THE Broccoli in Brown Sauce Recipe you have all been waiting for!

Broccoli in Brown Sauce

I know many of you have been begging me for this post, or at least for me to finally give you the recipe I claim is so simple. Well it is a very easy recipe and it taste great.

My sister went away for the weekend a little while ago and came home telling me they served the best broccoli side dish. I was so curious what this dish was because she happens to be the pickiest food eater ever. Anyway long story short she told me what was in it and I have been making it ever since.

It literally has become a staple side dish in my home and I have been serving it at all the holiday meals. NO joke this dish has been a huge crowd pleaser! I love this recipe because you can play around with it and add baby corn or water chestnuts for the real Chinese Food taste. Or you can prepare it like I have many times …. Just with broccoli.

Ingredients:

  • 2 heads of broccoli- washed and cut bite size
  • 2 cloves of garlic- minced
  • 2 tablespoons of sesame oil
  • 2 tablespoons Osem Soup Mix
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • Soy Sauce to taste
  • Boiling water (about 1/4 of a cup)
  • Baby corn cut up or water chestnuts ( if desired)

Preparation:

  1. Fry two cloves garlic in two table spoons of Sesame oil then add 3 heads of washed/cut broccoli
  2. In a separate bowl- mix soup mix, cornstarch, add boiling water to dissolve the mix and add soy sauce
  3. Add the mixture into broccoli cook covered for 10 minutes. ( if you want to add baby corn or water chestnuts, mix them into the broccoli after five minutes and let it cook covered for the last 5 minutes)

Serve Hot and Enjoy!

Broccoli, Baby Corn and Water Chestnuts

FOOD FOR THOUGHT:

“Eating is really one of your indoor sports. You play three times a day, and it’s well worthwhile to make the game as pleasant as possible”

~ Dorothy Draper

Speak to you soon,

                  Nicole Doreen

One response to “THE Broccoli in Brown Sauce Recipe you have all been waiting for!

  1. Great post. I will be going through a few of these issues as well..

Leave a Reply

